Who We Are

Purpose and Aims

  1. To act as the representative of all full-time and part-time members of the academic and instructional staff of Brandon University, including sessional instructors and laboratory instructors, cartographers, counselors, professional librarians, continuing education specialists, and all other staff within the bargaining unit(s) represented by BUFA for purposes which include:
    a) the regulation of relations between the administration of Brandon University or its designate and the Association;
    b) all matters affecting the terms and conditions of employment of the members of the bargaining unit represented by the Association, including provisions respecting rates of pay and hours of work; and
    c) acting as the exclusive bargaining agent on behalf of the members of the Association with the administration of Brandon University or its designate for the purpose of negotiating a collective bargaining agreement within the meaning of the Labour Relations Act of Manitoba.
  2. To help maintain academic freedom and to encourage participation in academic life.
  3. To deal with matters of academic concern to members of the Association.
  4. To promote the social, economic and general welfare of members of the Association.
  5. To promote the general welfare of the University.
  6. To do all such things as are necessary or incidental to the attainment of the above purposes and aims.

Faculty Association Staff

Shari Maguire, Member Services Officer


Your Executive

Gautam Srivastava, President
Jon-Tomas Godin, Vice President
Bryan Hill, Past President
Rosanne Gasse, Secretary
David Taylor, Treasurer

Your Area Representatives

Emily Holland, Arts
Shannon Gadbois, Science
Chris Beeman, Education
Sheila Scott, Music
Stacey Lee, PA, IA, AA
Jennifer Adair, Health Studies
Keith Edmunds, Sessional Instructors